Rest, Recovery, Food.

Don’t those three go so well together? I took a nap. I ran a little. And I ate!

RUN: A much needed RECOVERY RUN after the progressive tempo yesterday. Legs are still feeling sore but what can you do? 7.01 Miles (7:35/mi pace on hilly terrain, 7:30/mi pace on flat terrain)

Conditions: Very snowy and slick, but warm. I’d say it was the upper 30’s.

EAT:

Snack: My attempt at an Oatmeal “Cookie”…which fell apart when flipped. PS: Anyone have a good recipe for something like this? Where you make it in a skillet but don’t blend the oats. I’m not even going to SHARE what I did. It was a disaster (a good-tasting disaster at least)

My actual breakfast: Pumpkin Oatmeal (Two eggs on the side, already eaten.)

Mid-morning snackage was my homemade Chai Tea Latte (prev. post), and a piece of Flax Toast with Peanut Butter and cinnamon.

Had lunch, which was an open-faced sammy with all-natural ham and american cheese on it. A handful of dry kashi heart to heart… obsession?, Some strawberries, and a large Cameo Apple!

After the run, I stretched out and cooled off with this frothy guy:

I will always stand by this recovery shake when I don’t NEED to use Endurox, aka, almost every run. My Endurox is still sitting in the cabinet have un-drank and I really never have found myself truly needing to “recover” with it.

Chocolate Berry Recovery Smoothie

1/2 C. frozen berries (or more)

1-2 Tbsp Honey (depending on sweetness of the berries)

1 Tbsp Cocoa Powder

1 C. Skim Milk (Soy or 2% makes it creamier, so whatever I have on hand)

1/2 Scoop Protein Powder (Whey, Soy, Whatever)

4 Ice Cubes

I throw this all in my magic bullet-type blender and it comes out great every time. For more carbs, I’ll throw in random fruit juices or a frozen banana when I feel up to it. I also like substituting chocolate milk instead of skim milk when I need something extra creamy.

Well, tomorrow starts the new semester schedule so we’ll see how it goes! And here’s a little quote to give us a strong kick into the next semester.

So long as there is breath in me, that long I will persist. For now I know one of the greatest principles on success; if I persist long enough I will win.
Og Mandino

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Rest, Recovery, Food.

  1. lol maybe a video post? we’ll have to see!

    you get a facebook yet fool?

    oh, that oatmeal looks delicious. send that stuff over here! we eat like exactly alike too!

  2. hopiek

    delish! i’m not too sure I have a better pancake recipe…check out katheats.com, she has one that’s not blended (see right side bar)

    I made a little smoothie this afternoon with a spirutien protein powder packet- mmmm πŸ™‚

  3. nutritiousisdelicious

    Thanks for the link! πŸ˜‰

    Your disaster looks pretty tasty to me! haha

  4. runjess

    My legs were so sore today too!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

