Newton’s = LOVE.

The Newton’s (see previous post) are WONDERFUL.

I did my first run in them yesterday, an easy 4, and I felt like this was how I was supposed to run my entire life!  And then I finished it up with 100 strides and man, my legs have never had such a fast turnover. ever.  Today it was very snowy, we got around 5″ so I decided to take back out my Nimbus X’s and not risk ruining the new Newton’s.  Even running in the X’s on the long run, I emphasized a mid-foot strike and it seemed to come more natural after a while.

RUN: 10.5 miles, conversational pace.

EAT: Went back to Starbuck’s for my Saturday ritual of a Vivanno with Espresso Shot.  Then I browsed by Jamba and noticed…

STEEL-CUT OATMEAL??? WHAT???  Yeah, this stuff trumps whatever “perfect” instant oatmeal that Starbuck’s offers.  That’s right, straight up Steel-cut Oats with Blueberries, Blackberries, and a Brown Sugar Crumble from Jamba Juice <– That is where it’s AT.

Today, a perfect snowy Saturday is also a joyous occasion to bake.

Banana Bread, anyone?

Here’s what I did (adapted from allrecipes.com):

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons apple sauce
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 16 ounce plain yogurt (or low fat sour cream)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 C. Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease pans. In a small bowl, stir together 1/4 cup white sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Dust pans lightly with cinnamon and sugar mixture.
  • In a large bowl, mix applesauce and 3 cups sugar. Mix in eggs, mashed bananas, yogurt, vanilla and cinnamon. Mix in salt, baking soda and flour. Stir in nuts. Divide into prepared pans.
  • Bake for 60-70 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Very moist, as you can tell!  I added diced bananas on top before baking for an extra flair…you can add chocolate chips or whatever into this recipe if you want to.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Newton’s = LOVE.

  1. yum! where’s my banana bread!?

    glad your new shoes are working out well. i’m actually pissed because my new shoes are giving me arch pain. i ran in my other shoes today and it magically went away… what the eff?

  2. OoOhh, fancy banana bread! Glad you had such a fantas-mic run! I was expecting to see some Fig Newtons or Fig Newmans… but I suppose you run in shoes, not cookies. You should try cookies, though.
    NomNomNom!

  3. hk

    awesome loaf, i love that stuff for breakast and snacks 🙂 (smear with almond butter= divine!)

    glad the newtons are feeling good!!

  4. So glad you’re loving your new shoes. Your banana bread looks amazing. I love the idea of adding chocolate chips. Sounds like you had a good day. 🙂

  5. runjess

    I don’t like the Nimbus 10s, unfortunately. I loved the 9s, but now I can’t find them so I don’t know what I’m going to do!
    After looking at that banana bread, I’ve decided it’s lunch time.

  6. that banana bread could not look tastier! beautiful baking job 🙂

  7. where are you slacker?

  8. well aren’t you special… haha. nice!

    i don’t do cold! i’m dreading my 16 on sunday i gotta do outside! i’m ready for spring!

  9. i’ll try one tomorrow. which one should i try?

  10. i know i’m a best… i’d argue if i could!

    when you gonna update this bad boy? i need a christiina update!

Leave a Reply

